Wellington Armageddon Expo 2016

No matter where I go, no matter what I do, I will always attend the local geek conventions!

The Armageddon Expo in Wellington happened last June and I am now finally blogging about it. Took long enough, right? I don’t have much to say about my experience this far out other than I had a good time. Plushies were purchased, cosplay was judged, and my feet were sore by the end of it.

DSC_0019
The two cosplayers on the left helped run the cosplay contest on the last day of the expo

I attended two of the three days. My flatmate wanted to attend the day I didn’t want to attend so we split a three day pass between us. She was interested in seeing the actors who would be signing autographs and speaking at panels. I was more interested in the wares for sale and hanging out with friends.

The merchandise for Tokyo Ghoul makes me want to give the show a second chance, if only for aesthetic reasons. Relatedly, I am officially tired of Attack on Titan merchandise. Is it time to retire that show yet?

DSC_0209
this was this cosplayer’s first time entering a contest and she won an award for craftsmanship and she looks so darn happy

Other than a cosplayer who rolled her eyes when I asked for a picture, I had a great time. You can check out the rest of the pictures I took on my Flickr album found through this fineĀ and elegantly crafted link.

DSC_0252
Captain Carter coming up from the Atlantis stargate to meet the fans

My favorite cosplay of the weekend? Captain Carter! She was walking around with her girlfriend when I asked for a picture. We didn’t interact much beyond the “Can I have a picture?”/”Yes!” script, but we both had big smiles when walking away. Geekdom is a big, big world, so it’s thrilling to see someone’s eyes light up with yours about the same thing.

 

Leave a comment