One of my high school friends admitted to always finishing everything she reads, even if she hated it. I don’t agree with this reading philosophy. Life is too short to read a book you don’t like.

There are multiple reasons to drop a book. Maybe you don’t love it. Maybe it creeped you out. Maybe it was taking too long to read and you ditched it for something else. All of these and more are valid reasons to stop reading. Here is part 2 of 2 posts detailing the books I stopped reading and recorded on Goodreads.

cover_of_boneshaker

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

A steampunk novel but set in American Civial War-era Seattle where there is supposed to be zombies and Daddy Issues and adventure(TM)! The narration alternates between a mother and her son. I was maybe halfway through before giving up. I would get invested in the character at the end of their chapter before the POV shifted to the other, and then I would spend another chapter learning to root for the POV character, again. And the pattern got tiring.

10174795

Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Literally the creepiest book I have ever read and the only book I dropped because it absolutely terrified me. Two generation ships are sent into space. One raids the other and kidnaps all the girls. The one that was raided is rife with rape and leery dudes. The one that did the raiding is super religious and wants the young girls to reproduce. This combined with the idea of a generation ship where the inhabitants are forced to deal with their problems or die, and I was not willing to finish.

12868761

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Written by the Bloggess, whom I love. But the happenings in her life are a bit too weird to take in all at once, which is how I tried to consume this book. The book itself is recommended. Reading it all in a single weekend is not.

24766

The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld

I may have been too old for this book when I started reading it. I’m used to a bit more independence from my teenagers. Also, midnight isn’t the magic hour even when you’re a teenager. The magic hour is like 4:00AM because it’s after bar close and there’s no public transportation outside city centers and who the hell is up at 4:00AM anyway?

41eq8ed2bkrl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Nova by Margaret Fortune

The latest addition to the Didn’t Finish shelf. The action was slow-paced and the interactions between the characters seemed awkward. The main character’s personality wasn’t well defined, and so reading the book felt more like a chore. Upsetting because the publisher’s description on the cover had oh so much potential.

To read Part 1, click on this elegant and finely-crafted link!

