Happy New Year dear reader!

Welcome to 2017! I hope this year is better than last year. What are your hopes and dreams for the coming year? Here’s what’s happening in my life and what I hope to accomplish on this blog in 2017.

2016 Blogging Stats

I heard some years back that a good blogger is consistent with posting. Alongside this, consistent posts means consistent views which means an interested community. Here is a wrap up of the 2016 stats for KT’s Bookshelf.

As of 29 December, KT’s Bookshelf had 1,464 views which averages to 4 views per day. Of those views, 864 were unique visitors. The top 3 countries that visit my blog are the United States (523 views), Russia (392 views), and Brazil (113 views). Hello, Здравствуйте, and Olá to you all! September 16 saw the most traffic with 46 views. This was also the day of publication for Retro Recaps: Stargate SG-1 – “The Fifth Race”. The most popular day on this blog is Tuesday and the most popular time is 7:00AM (UTC+12).

The top 3 posts that had the most views this year are as follows:

  1. Watch Me Batman The Animated Series 2
  2. Retro Recaps: Stargate SG-1 – “The Fifth Race”
  3. Retro Recaps: Stargate SG-1 – “Enigma”

This is all a significant increase in viewership from last year. Thank you, dear readers, for visiting and reading!

28105634102_1dc753b21e_k
For future plans, follow arrow.

2017 Blogging Plans

There’s new blogging projects for me in 2017. I can’t wait to get started!

Retro Recaps is Expanding. Retro Recaps initially started with Stargate SG-1 with thoughts of doing Xena: Warrior Princess afterwards. However, it’s going to take a couple years to get through the entirety of both of those shows, so I’m reworking my original plan to include more variety. Instead of recapping one show at a time, I’m going to recap one season at a time for a handful of shows. I queued up the following for 2017 with the possibility of bleeding into 2018:

  • V: The Complete Series (1983-1985)
  • Batman The Animated Series (1992-1995)
  • Gargoyles (1994-1996)
  • Super Dimensional Fortress Macross (1984-1985), in conjuction with the good people at The Potted Lid.

Giant Robots and Retro Television at The Potted Lid. The Potted Lid is a group blog I am a member of with some of my closest friends from university. We tried garnering a digital presence when we first graduated but have since dropped the pot, so to speak, due to Life Things like full-time jobs and acquiring Masters degrees. We’re rebranding the blog by assigning a specific pop culture focus to each member. My foci include exploring the evolution of giant robots with a Mecha Marathon and writing reviews of retro science fiction. Each post I write for The Potted Lid will be announced here on KT’s Bookshelf, so keep an eye out for that. If you like what you read over on The Potted Lid, go ahead and subscribe already. You’ll be the trendsetters for our new era.

29458341206_285b9aadac_k
“Land of the Long White Cloud” in English

Personal Revelations

As of the end of January I would have spent an entire year in New Zealand. That’s 365 days in kiwi paradise. I am sad to leave this wonderful country. It’s green and luscious; the birdlife casually chill inside buildings and the people are the most easy-going I’ve met. I made some personal revelations this year:

I’m Happiest When Fiercely Independent. It took moving to a foreign country to finally realize this. Unable to visit friends or family back home, this year was spent relying on no one but myself for everything from paying the bill on my mobile to cleaning the week’s stack of dirty dishes. Yet I wouldn’t have things any other way.

Travel is My Stress Reliever. I feel as though I’ve known this subconsciously for a couple years now. When I lived in Milwaukee, I would take a weekend to visit a friend or family member at least once a month. In New Zealand, without a vehicle of my own, I was less mobile. It was only after I visited Hamner Springs for a winter wonderland weekend getaway that I realized how much traveling is like pushing the reset button for my stress.

Anime Blog Posts Get the Most Likes on WordPress. There’s a vocal anime-blogging community on WordPress. I have been sporadic in blogging about anime but I have a future project that may get me closer to those guys. Keep checking back for updates, anibloggers!

 

27188684250_9367a69d35_k
[insert pretentious quote about roads leading to the future]
Now you! What are your hopes for 2017? Let me know in the comment section below!

