One of my high school friends admitted to always finishing everything she reads, even if she hated it. I don’t agree with this reading philosophy. Life is too short to read a book you don’t like.

There are multiple reasons to drop a book. Maybe you don’t love it. Maybe it creeped you out. Maybe it was taking too long to read and you ditched it for something else. All of these and more are valid reasons to stop reading. Here part 1 of 2 posts detailing the books I stopped reading and recorded as such on Goodreads.

9619

Bradbury Stories: 100 of His Most Celebrated Tales by Ray Bradbury

I love me some Ray Bradbury. He has a way with characters that gives classic science fiction a literary edge. But if you put one hundred of his short stories into a giant collection, it gets a bit tiring. I started reading this book with the intention of reading a short story or two between larger novels because this is the type of book that requires patience and time. However, life things got in the way and the book fell to the wayside. I still have it, but it’s across the world at my parents’ house. Time and patience to finish indeed.

386_en

Calling on Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

This is the third installment of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles which started with a princess who volunteered herself for dragon captivity because it was more interesting than court life. In Calling on Dragons, the witch Morwen is the point of view character. And Morwen can communicate with cats, and I never thought cats could get that involved in anyone’s business that is not their own. I stopped because of slow moving action and non-stop feline commentary.

51cl7ga3byl-_sx308_bo1204203200_

Ariel by Steven R Boyett

A post-apocalyptic tale about a boy and his unicorn. The story’s focus on the boy’s virginity made me uncomfortable. I got maybe 2/3 into the story before reading ahead and disliking how everything turns out. Technically, I did read it. Kind of. But I don’t count it.

9780393964523-us-300

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

I believe this is the one and only entry of me attempting to record my thoughts on books I had to read for class. I don’t remember much about this book, but it’s no surprise that I didn’t finish it if I had to read it for school. (I was one of those annoying learn-by-osmosis students).

1296444-_uy500_ss500_

Mainspring by Jay Lake

I’ve heard a bunch of good things about Jay Lake, and I wanted to get more into steampunk novels, so I picked this one up. I couldn’t wrap my head around the in-world misogyny, which is why I dropped it. Really, if you think so lowly about women, why do you want to fuck them? I will never understand that.

71nl164o6ol

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I loved Elizabeth Gilbert’s TEDTalk about inspiration, and the movie for her hit book was coming out, so I picked up the book because of that “read the book before the movie” nonsense. I finished the first two parts before seeing the movie. And with that out of the way, I didn’t have the heart to finish the book. Though, again, I suppose I did technically read the book because I know the ending. Again, I don’t count it.

 

