I made some changes to this here blog, including using the read more function to get you to click into posts. (How evil am I?) More info on incoming projects below the cut.

I am disconnecting this blog from my Facebook and Twitter. I want it to be a personal project and only announce that I’m working on things if I can contribute to a pop culture website in some way. Mostly, I want to write about pop culture things I like without advertising what I like on Facebook.

So this is what’s going to happen. And this is the project I’m going to start. And this is why I am doing it.

What’s happening? I’m writing about pop culture. While I would like to get to the point where I publish articles relating to 2-3 projects a week, I have to acknowledge that I work full-time and spend a lot of extra money on travel. For now I will start with one project, see how much time that takes out of my regular schedule, and then plan future projects from there.

sg1-series-header

My first project? Episode recaps of Stargate SG-1. I’m calling the project “Retro Recaps” because it alliterates.

Why Stargate? Why SG-1? I’ve never actually seen an entire episode of any Stargate. It’s one of those franchises that have intrigued me when I was younger but there was no nice introduction without diving headfirst into it. But now I live in an age where a multitude of pop culture franchises can be purchased (ahem) with the click of a button. And since Stargate SG-1 is the series that started it all, might as well start there.

But why am I doing it? First and foremost, I love writing and I am aching for a chance to hone my skills, especially in the “literary analysis” department. Secondly, I need something to keep me entertained throughout the winter months and a personal writing project is just the thing to do it. My next getaway is going to require a big budget, and while I landed a job that pays nicely, it can’t be the thing that keeps me going every day. Television writing it is.

Episode recaps will appear 2-3 times a week depending on my schedule and life and all that. Until then, I will resume ad hoc reviews/essays on recent media I’ve consumed. I might even dig up some old thoughts I wrote about stuff in a journal somewhere. Those will be published on the blog randomly. The Retro Recaps project will be the only thing on a regular schedule until further notice.

Sweet as, man.

