NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. During the month of November, writers convene on their laptops and notebooks and attempt to push out 50,000 words in a single month. This is made all the more stressful because there is also Christmas shopping and holiday planning and you would think January would be a better month for this but apparently not. I didn’t make the rules.

I have done NaNoWriMo before. More accurately, I have attempted NaNoWriMo before. According to my history, my writing prowess fizzles and dies about halfway through and I am left with a feeling of guilt and then I forget about it once December hits. Then I move on and attempt to write a story in my own time and ultimately that fails too.

The biggest lesson to learn with NaNoWriMo is discipline. As the old saying goes, “Butt in chair, hands on keyboard, wifi off.”

I have no doubt that this year is going to be any different. Besides, I have a daunting to-do list to somehow break up into manageable parts. But I will get it done! Why? Because I am amazing. This I believe.

As an amazing person, I cannot fully take all the credit. A good chunk of it comes from the support and encouragement from others. So if you happen to think of me, send a reminder my way to get something done. Or send a random word of encouragement because goodness knows I am going to need it. I will reward these acts with good karma.

And so I go into the depth of insanity. Wish me luck!

