It has come to my attention that Starbucks is changing the ingredients in their precious Pumpkin Spice Latte. While I appreciate giant food corporations like Starbucks being mindful about the products they sell to their customers, I still had a minor Twitter rant. You see, I tried real pumpkin once. Like, an actual pumpkin I chopped up myself and baked in brown sugar and cloves and served to my parents.

I did not like it.

I will still try the new Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte/Steamer. Of course I will try the new PSL (sans espresso). As an Autumn-Girl, I am a sucker for anything involving pumpkin spices (minus the pumpkin), hot and creamy coffee drinks (minus the coffee), and oversized sweaters (the entire sweater. I like all the sweater).

So now, for no good reason other than this is slightly related to the above topic, I bring you a small list of Starbucks drinks for the non-coffee drinker such as myself from someone who worked at one of those pseudo-Starbucks inside a Barnes and Noble.

Please note that I normally take my drinks nonfat and no whip so modify to your heart’s content.

Vanilla Chai Latte

Hot chai, no water, add 1-2 pumps vanilla syrup depending on drink size
*Use cinnamon dolce syrup instead of vanilla for extra cinnamon chai!
**Try this as a frappuccino on hot days!

Peach Green Tea Frappuccino

Green tea frappuccino, no classic syrup, 1-2 pumps peach syrup. No whip.
*Try this as a hot green tea latte!

Raspberry Black Iced Tea

Black iced tea, lite ice, no classic syrup, sub raspberry syrup

A note on the following drinks. By now you may have heard of the Starbucks Secret Menu. This is not something Starbucks employees are officially taught. What is called the “Starbucks Secret Menu” is a way for customers to customize already existing drinks. You can already do this, just let the barista know how you want your drink changed.

That said, here are some custom drinks you can get at the Starbucks inside Barnes and Noble. The Barnes and Noble Cafe, while serving Starbucks drinks, is not a Real Starbucks and does not always feature the full Starbucks drink menu.

When in doubt, write it out. Please give a hard copy of the recipe (if available) to your barista to minimize any confusion.

Harry Potter Butterbeer Latte

For a grande latte, 1 pump toffee nut syrup, 1 pump cinnamon dolce syrup, 1 pump caramel syrup. Whip Cream, caramel drizzle.
*Modify syrup amounts to fit your tastes for different sizes.

Chocolate Strawberry Banana Smoothie

Strawberry Banana smoothie with java chips blended in the smoothie

Orange Dreamsicle

Strawberries and cream frappuccino, substitute orange mango base for strawberry base, switch milk:base ratio for maximum deliciousness
***This was my absolute favorite and only a select number of us knew how to make it. I would order it at every opportunity. Do yourself a favor and see if you can get this at your regular Barnes and Noble Cafe.

It is almost ten at night and now I want Starbucks. Particularly the orange dreamsicle. Thank you, Internet. Thanks a lot.

