Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: Do you play a sport? If not, talk about a different hobby

I used to play sports. According to an old friend of mine, I was great at sports if I could focus. But I lacked the focus because I lacked the interest. I did not like long-lasted intense cardio activity like running, and baseball/softball was boring. The exception to this is rollerblading. I used to skate around the same 3-5 blocks when I was in elementary school. I did play some volleyball in middle school, but I was intimidated by the physical abilities required for the high school team so I never tried out. Sports in general dropped out of my life after middle school, where I spent my time focusing on the arts, mostly band, choir, art, and creative writing.

In college, I tried the exercising at the gym thing. The thing is, in general, I am not wont to talk to strangers especially in an environment like a gym where I feel inadequate and I don’t know if I can do this or that. So I rarely went to the gym and instead watched a lot of anime. My sophomore year, a dorm friend tried to get me to jog with her on several occasions to mixed results. She would push me to go further but then I would cop out after reaching a single goal (like run from the dorms to the hospital without stopping to walk).

Physical activity is not my thing.

I did like Kendo, though. Kendo is a sword-fighting sport and the remains of bushido practices from the Japanese feudal era. I liked it because it was short spurts of energy and you get to whack people with a bamboo sword. I still have my shinai–I keep it under my bed in case of burglars.

In terms of physical activity, I would much prefer something like yoga or strength training that focuses on muscles rather than cardio. I do like long walks, though. Long walks and hikes and treks through a city are amazing because you get to look at cool stuff as you go about your business. Sometimes you say hi and smile to people on the street. If you take the path less traveled (by you), you find something interesting.

Now You! What’s your favorite sport to play?

