Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: Favorite subject in school

I am going to focus more on my college experience because that is the most relevant to me right now. High school was somewhat fun, but I got the most intellectual stimulation from college where I could look at specific subjects and scrutinize them with my untrained eye. Here are some of my favorites from my college days:

Introduction to Production

A communications arts course that had us make one light journal, one 5-minute documentary, and introduced us to video editing software and cameras fancier (and older) than anything I could use normally. This is also the class where I learned that I was too intimidated by the people in the com arts department to get comfortable.

Folk Epics

A folklore class that looked at the major epics of Europe and the Near East. We studied why these stories were considered epics, what tropes were present to brand them as such, and then we took that scrutiny to pieces of literature/storytelling we did not focus on during the class. I still have my 10-page paper arguing how Harry Potter is a folk epic of the modern era. A part of me wants to re-open it, brush it up a bit, and post it somewhere on the internet.

Anime

This class was simply titled but it was not. Lectures met three times a week–once for a screening and two more times for discussion in the lecture hall. We studied Japanese animation and the history thereof through a postmodernist lens, which meant some of our readings were actual postmodern theory and were hard to get through. This also meant some well-known shows were scrutinized through this lens, including Paprika, Ghost in the Shell, and Neon Genesis Evangelion. And to appease all the anime fans (which we all were, let’s be honest), we got to choose which anime to marathon in a single Saturday. It was Neon Gen, of course.

Creative Writing Workshop, fall semester senior year

I took three creative writing workshops, as was required per my degree. The first was led by a poet so I learned more about poetry in that one. The second had a nice variety of genre fiction, which the instructor liked, so I liked her. The third was slightly boring so I decided to be That Person and write the pseudo-experimental pieces just to mess with everyone. I still got a good grade, and I got a taste for nontraditional storytelling in the process. Though I may have always had a thing for nontraditional storytelling and that class provided me with an outlet for it.

Now You! What was your favorite course in college?

