Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: Thoughts on Harry Potter

This is a can of worms that requires a LOT more than a single post. Consider this post a general summary of my opinions and thoughts and feelings revolving around the conglomerate that is the Harry Potter franchise.

I am of the generation that grew up with Harry Potter. My first midnight release happened when we were on vacation. We lined up at the local bookstore and waited with other Harry Potter fans on vacation. That was for the release of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I remember starting the book, not internalizing anything I read (because I was on vacation and overwhelmed trying to balance reading on vacation), stopping for a long while, and then coming back to it later.

Harry Potter is the series that got me into reading. It will forever hold a special place in my heart. I will introduce my children to Harry Potter and they will see it so much differently than I ever will. I almost drew an entire comic from that one Marauders flashback in the sixth book in high school. (Did everything until I had to outline all the penciling. Forget why I stopped).

This is not to say I do not have my issues with it. I will never see Dumbledore as a homosexual character because he was never portrayed as someone with a romantic relationship to back up that claim. If Rowling wants LGBTQ+ representation, make Dumbledore asexual. Lupin/Tonks was a forced pair and I do not support it at all. The Order of the Phoenix could use some cutting to streamline that volume and the events therein. You can accurately summarize the first half of the seventh book as “camping sux.” The film adaptions are all right but they will never have the depth of character and world building as the books. Film!Harry also lacks the sarcasm of book!Harry which is kind of disappointing.

Many a night at college, my friends and I discussed Harry Potter and our thoughts and opinions thereof. We read essays online and based our discussions around that. Sometimes we berated the author, sometimes the content, and sometimes the books themselves. Those nights were also filled with fanfiction, fanart, and whether we thought the depictions of characters in fan creations were accurate or not. Despite being friends with my friends, I have never seen A Very Potter Musical.

Now You! Why do you love/hate Harry Potter?

