Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: Top 3 Favorite Bands

The info here is going to differ from my Top 3 Musical Artists posted a while ago. These points are not individual artists but a group of them working together to create awesome music.

1. Nightwish

Nightwish a Finland-based metal band noted for its use of symphonic music. Their first singer, Tarja, is classically trained which adds a unique operatic flair to their music. They have since rearranged their members, per se, but they maintain their symphonic flair in all their music. My favorite albums are Once, Imaginarium, and Endless Forms Most Beautiful, not in that order.

2. Bastille

As far as I know, they only have one album out so far. But I love that album and their drums and their music in general. I am still not sure how I can describe the atmosphere of the album. It is a mixture of folk-like instruments and singing but the songs themselves have melodies associated with pop music. That is how I would describe Bastille. Favorite tracks include “Icarus” and “Laura Palmer.” They are coming to Summerfest this year so I should really get tickets.

3. Muse

My older brother introduced me to this band. I describe them as science fiction rock because of tracks like “Starlight” and “Uprising.” Their album Resistance draws influence from the book 1984 and themes in 2nd Law are drawn from the idea of evolution. They have a new album coming out later this year, which means they will be making a world tour again. Which means I will have to put in extra effort to get tickets at my closest venue.

Now You! Who is your favorite band?

