Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: My pets

I had parakeets when growing up. One at a time. Sometimes they were friendly, and sometimes they were not. I named my first one Tweety. Whenever we let him out, he had a thing for the curtains in the family room. My older brother was the only one tall enough to get him down. Tweetster kept to herself and was not very friendly.

Sometime in middle school, I said I wanted a cat. Mom and Dad got supplies for a cat and gave it to me as a Christmas present. Before we could adopt, we had to meet the cat. Except when we went to a Petco to see who was adoptable, I fell in love with another parakeet. We did not get a cat.

I named the bird Zero after the Megaman X character, who was another friendly one. Zero I would bring into my room and read aloud from whatever book I was reading. He twittered along and sometimes nibbled the edges of the book pages. When Zero passed, we tried living without a parakeet for a while. I forget why we got Maverick, but we got him nonetheless. He got his namesake by divebombing the other parakeets in the aviary.

Since us kids moved out, my parents never got another animal. At least for now they haven’t.

My roommates in college got cats. They had two while I lived with them. Jillian is a shy black cat with a love for all things food. Mr. Squiggles is tiny and stubborn and oh, so cuddly. So when I got my own place, I wanted a cat. But by the time I remembered I wanted one, I was also starting to plan for long-term international travel. What was one to do?

Maxwell is a black tuxedo cat adoptable through For Cat’s Sake shelter in the Milwaukee area. He follows me around the apartment, purs when I hold him, and loves open windows. I have seen him hide so he won’t scare away the finches from my bird feeder, and he loves to watch the finches. He will wait patiently for you to wake up before he starts begging for food in the morning. And he begs by nuzzling you and purring. Maxwell is looking for his furever home!

2014-11-20 17.29.43

Now You! Tell me about your current pet.

