Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: How I found Tumblr and How My Life Has Changed

Whatever blogging challenge I found is apparently Tumblr-centric. I have a soft-spot for Tumblr despite its reputation of being inhabited by punk teenagers. For me, Tumblr is where the outcasts go to hang out. As I identify with these outcasts, it seems natural I would somehow find myself there.

A close friend of mine introduced our small group to Tumblr in one, fell swoop. Just like that, we were hooked.

I followed people who liked the same things as I did. Once I had my dash set up, I could browse daily through things that I liked and enjoyed. There was a Tumblr dedicated to analyzing frames of Avatar: the Last Airbender. There was fanart of Young Justice. There were discussions about Dick Grayson and his role in the Batman comics. It was everything I ever wanted to write about and here it was, presented to me in a way that I could read and learn. Hooked may have been an understatement.

There were periods of my life when I was so addicted to Tumblr that I HAD, HAD I TELL YOU, had to browse through my dashboard until I was all caught up. It was kind of painful and, looking back on it, a point in my life when I was so unhappy that Tumbling was the only high point of my day emotionally. Perhaps it did not help that quite a few people I followed were aware of mental health issues and would write posts addressing the treatment of depression. Tumblr was both the high point of my life but, in hindsight, I also see it as a sort of instigator of negative emotions at the time. The thing I loved was the thing that was destroying me inside. The first step of letting go was acknowledging I had a problem..

This happened by forcibly limiting my time on Tumblr. During that time, I took a trip to South Korea to visit a friend, so that got me away for a while. At the same time, I was job hunting, which also limited my time on Tumblr. Right now, I acknowledge that I cannot get enough of Tumblr, but I also limit my viewing of it. In fact, I limited it so much that I can only Tumbl when I meet certain criterion:

I can only view Tumblr on my phone and I must be connected to a secure wi-fi signal.

Right now, I do not feel the need to catch up with my dash. I also acknowledge that Tumblr has the potential to be unhealthy, but similar to real-life relationships, it all depends on the people you hang out with–er, follow.

My advice to the new Tumblr-ite? Do not be afraid of unfollowing people you no longer want on your dashboard. In general, do not be afraid of cutting unhealthy relationships from your life. Mental health is just as important as physical health, so be sure to indulge in self-care once in a while. I usually do something for myself once a month.

Now You! Are you on Tumblr? Who is your OTP?

