Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: Write About Your Closest Friends

I am not going to tell you about specific people because I am not comfortable doing that. Instead, I am going to tell you a story, kids. This is the story of how I met my bestest friends in the whole wide world. It happened in college.

My sophomore year, I decided I would join a club of some sort. So I found the iconic student literary journal and thought I would join that. During the kick-off meeting, I met the person I would come to call my best friend. She told me about this writing group she was part of and invited me to join because they were recruiting new members. I decided to check it out, and that was the greatest decision I have ever made.

That first meeting was fabulous because I learned that all these people were into the same things I was into! And they shared opinions similar to mine! And they were not condescending when I asked questions! Moreover, they would answer any questions I had without judgment! It was the greatest relief I could ever feel because my freshman year was actually really shitty on the social front.

After that first meeting, we all wanted to keep hanging out, so we walked outside together. Someone, we’ll call her Basil, invited us to her apartment which was close an unoccupied by roommates. Seeing as this was a general invitation and the end of the meeting, I started to have doubts about my  place in the social group. That is when Basil turned to me directly and asked if I was coming. I may have said something about not knowing if I was invited with the rest, and she said of course I was.

That is how I knew I found my people.

Our writing group was called Working Title. We mostly wrote science fiction and fantasy, and our membership was mostly made of geeks. They are my people, and there is a handful of them I consider my bestest friends in the whole wide world, my family outside of my family. And that is my story.

Now You! Where did you meet your best friend?

