Okay kids, here is the deal. I am wrapped up in Busy Grown Up Stuff involving My Future and Potential International Travel so I am going to give my brain a break and do something fairly easy: a blogging challenge. Wherein I write a post of ambiguous length every day for thirty days to entertain you all. Won’t this be fun?

Today’s Topic: My Middle Name and How I Feel About It

My middle name is Lauren.

Depending on the source, the meaning of Lauren varies but they all have something to do with laurel leaves. The laurel leaf is related to the bay leaf (not the Pokemon) and a crown of laurel leaves is an ancient symbol marking the champion or a ruler.

If I am the champion of something, I do not know what it is. Perhaps work ethic? I have a really strong work ethic.

I get my middle name from my grandfather. Grandpa Laurie (short for Lawrence) died three years before I was born, so I never knew him personally. He was a dairy farmer, could predict the weather from the cows, and was honorably discharged from the military in basic training because he broke his leg. I like to think I inherited some of his wisecracking humor and wit. Whenever my mom was being headstrong, he would call her Madame Queen. She did not like it growing up, but I think she misses it now that he is gone. Out of respect, I refer to myself as Mademoiselle Princess.

I like my middle name because it is a part of the definition of me. It ties me to my ancestors and hints that I have the potential to champion something.

Now You! How do you feel about your middle name?

